While holidays are often associated with the sea and large tourist centers, Puisaye-Forterre in Yonne in Burgundy stands out: close to Paris, She is a nugget of calm and tranquility in an ocean of ever-changing tourist destinations. Press pause.

A destination where time has value

“Do nothing”, “pass the time”, “take the times”. So many expressions that we find among neo-rural people, vacationers and locals. Without wasting any of your time, you will find it again, find yourself. Between reconnection and awareness, Puisaye-Forterre will be your fortress, your little corner of Burgundy.

Nathalie Jard / Puisaye Tourism

A preserved nature

The territory imbued withStory and charm, is a natural gem nestled between the Chablisien and Sancerre. At the heart of this region, Lac du Bourdon extends its tranquil waters, offering a peaceful refuge for a multitude of animal and plant species. There nature reigns supreme in these preserved places, inviting you to discovery on foot or by bike through his hiking trails. Its mouths and faces are proof of the major interest shown by the community, associations and residents in Puisaye-Forterre.

Each corner of this little-known region reveals a little more of its wild beauty, offering visitors an authentic and unforgettable experience. Land ofwater, forests and Highlands, it presents both preserved and classified sites as Andryes Marsh et the Ferrier of Tannerre-en-Puisaye and at the same time, sites which are part of the landscape such as the medieval castle of Guedelon in Treigny or the Wolf Pyramid in Toucy.

Your favorite hikes

Castle of Druyes-les-Belles-Fontaines
Gérard Poulin

01

In Druyes-les-Belles-Fontaines

Medieval castle, viaduct, springs, washhouse: a marked hike, ideal for the family.

A tour of the fortified castle… without taking your eyes off it

The Villéon hike in Puisaye-Forterre
Gerard Poulin

02

In Bitry

Emmanuel de la Villéon is a painter who lived in a beautiful residence in the hamlet of Salvard. The route is decorated with panels with reproductions and comments.

Discovery trail La Villéon en Puisaye

The Colette trail, starting from Saint-Sauveur-en-Puisaye
Daniel Salem

03

In Saint-Sauveur-en-Puisaye

Along this path, everything recalls the stories of Colette, born in Saint-Sauveur-en-Puisaye. You will cross the Loing to reach the pretty village of Moutiers, its pond and its fabulous murals of the Saint-Pierre and Saint-Paul church.

Colette Trail

Unusual tourist sites

La Puisaye-Forterre is full of captivating tourist sites that promise a enriching and memorable stay. THE Castle of of Saint-Fargeau, steeped in history, offers a historical spectacle breathtaking every summer which transports visitors through the ages. THE Park of Boutissaint immerses you in the heart of nature for a visit up close to the fauna and flora. HAS Guedelon, a medieval fortified castle is built using ancestral techniques, offering unique immersive experience. The Wolf Pyramid attracts the curious in search of unusual discoveries on the history and evolution of the wolf, and beyond, theimportance of each species for biodiversity. Literature enthusiasts can visit the birthplace of Colette in Saint-Sauveur-en-Puisaye, plunging into the world of this famous writer. There Aubigny underground quarry in Taingy traces the tradition of limestone cutting which allowed the construction of emblematic buildings over the centuries. A stone cutting workshop is even possible!

Traveling through this region, each visit holds moments of wonder and learning, while the museums further enrich this cultural experience.

Traditions preserved

In Puisaye-Forterre, traditions are carefully preserved, offering visitors a authentic immersion in the local culture. Village festivals, real annual meetings, are moments where mingle traditions ancestral and modern festivities. THE local associations play an essential role in preserving these traditions, organizing events that highlight the living heritage of Puisaye-Forterre. At the heart of this region, the Moulin de Vanneau farm perpetuates traditional agricultural know-how with the harvest festival of yesteryear. Local potters shape, perpetuating an ancestral craft in their workshops and on pottery markets. The weekly markets, unmissable events, are the meeting place par excellence and the heart of the villages which they host every week. You will enjoy strolling the cobbled streets of Toucy, listening to the town crier on the square of Saint-Sauveur-en-Puisaye or having a drink in one of the cafés of Charny during these friendly mornings.

Characterful Burgundian villages

From Charny Orée de Puisaye to Saint-Amand-en-Puisaye, our villages each have their own particularities which appeal to holidaymakers. The typical habitat between bricks, terracotta tiles et half-timbered, characteristics of the region, are found in the communes and hamlets forming a harmonious whole where each walk offers a curiosity to discover. From the church to the wash house, from the castle to the small shop, you will stroll to discover this small local heritage. For a weekend or a week, you will take on another, gentler pace of life and meet a community of producers and artisans who together preserve the art of living that we so envy in France.


Was this content useful to you?

Alors que les vacances sont souvent associées à la mer et aux grands centres touristiques, la Puisaye-Forterre dans l’Yonne en Bourgogne, se démarque : proche de Paris, elle est une pépite de calme et de tranquillité dans un océan de destinations touristiques toujours en mouvement. Appuyez sur pause.

Une destination où le temps a de la valeur

“Ne rien faire”, “passer le temps”, “prendre le temps”. Autant d’expressions que l’on retrouve auprès des néo-ruraux, des vacanciers et des habitants. Sans rien perdre de votre temps, vous allez le retrouver, vous retrouver. Entre reconnexion et prise de conscience, la Puisaye-Forterre sera votre forteresse, votre petit coin de Bourgogne.

Nathalie Jard / Puisaye Tourisme

Une nature préservée

Le territoire empreint d’histoire et de charme, est un joyau naturel niché entre le Chablisien et le Sancerrois. Au cœur de cette région, le lac du Bourdon étend ses eaux tranquilles, offrant un refuge paisible pour une multitude d’espèces animales et végétales. La nature règne en maître dans ces lieux préservés, invitant à la découverte à pied ou à vélo à travers ses sentiers de randonnée. Ses bouchures et ses trognes sont la preuve de l’intérêt majeur que porte la collectivité, les associations et les habitants à la Puisaye-Forterre.

Chaque coin de cette région méconnue révèle un peu plus de sa beauté sauvage, offrant aux visiteurs une expérience authentique et inoubliable. Terre d’eau, de forêts et de hauts plateaux, elle présente à la fois des sites préservés et classés comme le Marais d’Andryes et le Ferrier de Tannerre-en-Puisaye et à la fois, des sites qui viennent s’inscrire dans le paysage comme le château médiéval de Guédelon à Treigny ou la Pyramide du Loup à Toucy.

Vos randonnées préférées

Château de Druyes-les-Belles-Fontaines
Gérard Poulin

01

À Druyes-les-Belles-Fontaines

Château médiéval, viaduc, sources, lavoir : une randonnée balisée, idéale à faire en famille.

Le tour du château fort… sans le quitter des yeux

La randonnée de la Villéon en Puisaye-Forterre
Gerard Poulin

02

À Bitry

Emmanuel de la Villéon est un peintre qui a vécut dans une belle demeure au hameau des Salvard. Le parcours est agrémenté de panneaux comportant des reproductions et des commentaires.

Parcours découverte La Villéon en Puisaye

Le sentier Colette, au départ de Saint-Sauveur-en-Puisaye
Daniel Salem

03

À Saint-Sauveur-en-Puisaye

Le long de ce chemin, tout rappelle les récits de Colette, née à Saint-Sauveur-en-Puisaye. Vous traverserez le Loing pour rejoindre le joli village de Moutiers, son étang et ses fabuleuse peintures murales de l’église Saint-Pierre et Saint-Paul.

Sentier Colette

Des sites touristiques insolites

La Puisaye-Forterre regorge de sites touristiques captivants qui promettent un séjour enrichissant et mémorable. Le Château de Saint-Fargeau, chargé d’histoire, offre un spectacle historique époustouflant chaque été qui transporte les visiteurs à travers les époques. Le Parc de Boutissaint vous plonge au cœur de la nature pour une visite au plus près de la faune et de la flore. À Guédelon, on construit un château fort médiéval en utilisant des techniques ancestrales, offrant une expérience immersive unique. La Pyramide du Loup attire les curieux en quête de découvertes insolites sur l’histoire et l’évolution du loup, et au delà, l’importance de chaque espèce pour la biodiversité. Les passionnés de littérature peuvent visiter la maison natale de Colette à Saint-Sauveur-en-Puisaye, plongeant ainsi dans l’univers de cette célèbre écrivaine. La Carrière souterraine d’Aubigny à Taingy retrace la tradition de la taille de la pierre calcaire qui permit la construction d’édifices emblématiques au fil des siècles. Un atelier de taille de pierre est même possible !

En parcourant cette région, chaque visite réserve des moments d’émerveillement et d’apprentissage, tandis que les musées enrichissent davantage cette expérience culturelle.

Des traditions préservées

En Puisaye-Forterre, les traditions sont soigneusement préservées, offrant aux visiteurs une immersion authentique dans la culture locale. Les fêtes de village, véritables rendez-vous annuels, sont des moments où se mêlent traditions ancestrales et festivités modernes. Les associations locales jouent un rôle essentiel dans la préservation de ces traditions, organisant des événements qui mettent en valeur le patrimoine vivant de la Puisaye-Forterre. Au cœur de cette région, la Ferme du Moulin de Vanneau perpétue les savoir-faire agricoles traditionnels avec la fête des Moissons d’Antan. Les potiers locaux façonnent, perpétuant un artisanat ancestral dans leurs ateliers et sur les marchés potiers. Les marchés hebdomadaires, rendez-vous incontournables, sont le lieu de rencontre par excellence et le cœur des villages qu’ils animent chaque semaine. Vous prendrez plaisir à arpenter les ruelles pavées à Toucy, à écouter le crieur public sur la place de Saint-Sauveur-en-Puisaye ou à boire un verre dans un des cafés de Charny lors de ces matinées conviviales.

Des villages bourguignons de caractères

De Charny Orée de Puisaye à Saint-Amand-en-Puisaye, nos villages ont chacun leurs particularités qui séduisent les vacanciers. L’habitat, typique, entre briques, tomettes et pans de bois, caractéristiques de la région, se retrouve dans les communes et hameaux formant un ensemble harmonieux où chaque balade offre une curiosité à découvrir. De l’église au lavoir, du château à la petite boutique, vous flânerez à la découverte de ce petit patrimoine local. Le temps d’un week-end ou d’une semaine, vous prendrez un autre rythme de vie, plus doux et irez à la rencontre d’une communauté de producteurs et d’artisans qui préservent ensemble l’art de vivre que l’on nous envie tant en France.


Ce contenu vous a été utile ?