Nestled in the heart of Burgundy, the Château de Saint Fargeau in Yonne, is full of history and offers you a timeless self-guided tour. You will have the opportunity to live a unique experience in this fascinating place where different immersive activities await you. From the foundations to the frames, discover this 1000-year-old pink brick giant 1h30 from Paris.

Arsène Jurman / Puisaye Tourism

The history of the Château de Saint-Fargeau spans 10 centuries: visit its apartments, its chapel, its guard room, its toy attic and its frames.

A little history at the Château de Saint-Fargeau

The origin of the Château de Saint-Fargeau dates back to the 10th century. Different owners succeed one another and leave their personality there as Jacques Coeur, famous financier, and the Grande Mademoiselle. First cousin of King Louis XIV, Anne-Marie Louise d'Orléans, better known as the Great Mademoiselle, was condemned to exile and thus took up residence in Saint-Fargeau. The Château de Saint-Fargeau also made its mark the writer Jean d'Ormesson. Indeed, the Lepeletier family acquired the estate in 1713 and its heir, the Count of Ormesson, gave life to the Château de Saint-Fargeau in his novel To the Pleasure of God. In 1979, Michel and Jacques Guyot became owners of the estate and enriched the heritage of this place by restoring it.

The visit to the Castle, day and night

You would like to enjoy the Château at day light ? This is the opportunity to discover this rich cultural and historical heritage during your day in Puisaye. You will have the opportunity to explore the furnished and private apartments, but also different rooms, like the reconstruction of the Grande Mademoiselle’s bedroom. Other spaces will be accessible during your visit such as the frames, the stables, the chapel, the guard room, the toy attic but also the whole English park of 120 hectares.

The castle guide brings history to life, with lots of anecdotes and lots of humor.

Pierre Laboisse, President and CEO of Aledia, a leader in nanowire-based MicroLED technologies for the displays of tomorrow
Opening hours from March 30 to November 11, 2024
Monday Open from 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. and from 14 p.m. to 18 p.m.
Tuesday Open from 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. and from 14 p.m. to 18 p.m.
Wednesday Open from 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. and from 14 p.m. to 18 p.m.
Thursday Open from 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. and from 14 p.m. to 18 p.m.
Friday Open from 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. and from 14 p.m. to 18 p.m.
Saturday Open from 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. and from 14 p.m. to 18 p.m.
Sunday Open from 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. and from 14 p.m. to 18 p.m.
Prices Min. Max.
Child rate
8 € -
Group rate
10 € -
Basic price – Adult Full price
12 € -
Firm. Opens at 10:00 p.m.
Castle square
89170 SAINT-FARGEAU
Calculate my route

Château de Saint-Fargeau
Night visits Saint-Fargeau castle

Night visits

The Château de Saint-Fargeau is one of the only castles in Yonne to be accessible at night. This is a unique opportunity to delve into the heart of the history of this place. You will share unforgettable moments at the candlelight, walking in the footsteps of the Grande Mademoiselle. Entertainment and activities will be offered to you depending on the period of your visit.

The historical spectacle

The estate opens its doors to you for this summer event which retraces the History of France. The contribution of 600 volunteer actors and 50 riders, coming from all over Puisaye, will give you an unforgettable moment. Sound and light shows, staging, animal participation... Everything is ready to take you on a journey through the centuries. On site, catering areas await you to fully enjoy your historic evening at the castle.

Château de Saint-Fargeau
Historical show at the Château de Saint-Fargeau
Castle farm
Child giving a bottle at the Château de Saint-Fargeau farm

LA FERME DU CHATEAU

If you are looking for authenticity, you have come to the right place. The visit of the Castle Farm is a return to basics, among farm animals for a moment of conviviality. Activities adapted to each member of the family will be offered on site : cart rides, bottle-feeding calves, milking goats, baking bread, making rope, learning to forge… to learn everything about farm trades. It is an informative and educational place for children and adults.


The village of Saint-Fargeau

Located in the heart of Burgundy-Franche-Comté, 40 minutes from the city from Auxerre, the village of Saint-Fargeau is an essential place for your stay in the Yonne. You will quickly be won over by its local traditions, its castle, the many activities to discover, its nature and its landscapes and appreciate its streets and alleys and half-timbered houses. Saint-Fargeau has a rich history where details of French History are intertwined.



Frequently asked questions about the Château de Saint-Fargeau:

How to buy tickets for the show?

To reserve your tickets for the Saint-Fargeau show this summer, you can go to the Official website from the Château de Saint-Fargeau or by going there on show days.

How much time should you allow for visiting the Castle?

To visit the castle on a self-guided tour, allow at least 2 hours for all the interior apartments, the stables and the exterior park. The show lasts 1h30. You will access the stands between 1 and 1 hours before the start of the show.

Is it possible to visit with my dog?

Dogs are not allowed inside the castle but you can visit the outdoor park in their company.

Is it possible to park near the entrance to the Château?

Free parking is available on Place de la République. However, we advise you to come in advance of the performances to have a guaranteed place when it opens to the public.

What are the other tourist sites to visit in Saint-Fargeau?

To extend the experience in Saint-Fargeau, here is a selection of activities:

Was this content useful to you?

Niché au cœur de la Bourgogne, le Château de Saint-Fargeau dans l’Yonne, regorge d’histoire et vous propose une visite libre hors du temps. Vous aurez l’occasion de vivre une expérience unique dans ce lieu fascinant où différentes activités immersives vous attendent. Des fondations aux charpentes, découvrez ce géant de briques roses de 1000 ans à 1h30 de Paris.

Arsène Jurman / Puisaye Tourisme

L’histoire du Château de Saint-Fargeau s’étend sur 10 siècles : visitez ses appartements, sa chapelle, sa salle des gardes, son grenier aux jouets et ses charpentes.

Un peu d’histoire au château de Saint-Fargeau

L’origine du Château de Saint-Fargeau remonte au Xe siècle. Différents propriétaires se succèdent et y laissent leur personnalité comme Jacques Coeur, célèbre argentier, et la Grande Mademoiselle. Cousine germaine du roi Louis XIV, Anne-Marie Louise d’Orléans, plus connue sous le nom de la Grande Mademoiselle, fut condamnée à l’exil et prit ainsi ses quartiers à Saint-Fargeau. Le Château de Saint-Fargeau a également marqué l’écrivain Jean d’Ormesson. En effet, la famille Lepeletier acquiert le domaine en 1713 et son héritier, le comte d’Ormesson, donne vie au Château de Saint-Fargeau dans son roman Au Plaisir de Dieu. En 1979, Michel et Jacques Guyot deviennent propriétaires du domaine et enrichissent le patrimoine de ce lieu en le restaurant.

La visite au Château, de jour comme de nuit

Vous souhaitez profiter du Château à la lumière du jour ? C’est l’occasion de découvrir ce riche patrimoine culturel et historique lors de votre journée en Puisaye. Vous aurez la possibilité de sillonner les appartements meublés et privés, mais aussi différentes salles, comme la reconstitution de la chambre de la Grande Mademoiselle. D’autres espaces seront accessibles durant votre visite comme les charpentes, les écuries, la chapelle, la salle des gardes, le grenier aux jouets mais aussi l’ensemble du parc à l’anglaise de 120 hectares.

La guide du château donne vie à l'histoire, avec plein d'anecdotes et beaucoup d'humour.

Pierre
Horaires d’ouverture du 30 mars au 11 novembre 2024
Lundi Ouvert de 10h à 12h et de 14h à 18h
Mardi Ouvert de 10h à 12h et de 14h à 18h
Mercredi Ouvert de 10h à 12h et de 14h à 18h
Jeudi Ouvert de 10h à 12h et de 14h à 18h
Vendredi Ouvert de 10h à 12h et de 14h à 18h
Samedi Ouvert de 10h à 12h et de 14h à 18h
Dimanche Ouvert de 10h à 12h et de 14h à 18h
Tarifs Min. Max.
Tarif enfant
8 €
Tarif groupe
10 €
Tarif de base – Adulte Plein tarif
12 €
Fermé. Ouvre demain à 10h00
Place du château
89170 SAINT-FARGEAU
Calculer mon itinéraire

Château de Saint-Fargeau
Visites de nuit château de Saint-Fargeau

Les visites de nuit

Le Château de Saint-Fargeau est l’un des seuls châteaux de l’Yonne à être accessible de nuit. C’est une occasion unique de plonger au cœur de l’histoire de ce lieu. Vous partagerez des moments inoubliables à la lueur des chandelles, en marchant sur les traces de la Grande Mademoiselle. Des animations et activités vous seront proposées en fonction de la période de votre visite.

Le spectacle historique

Le domaine vous ouvre ses portes pour cet événement estival qui retrace l’Histoire de France. La contribution de 600 acteurs bénévoles et 50 cavaliers, venus de toute la Puisaye, vous feront vivre un moment inoubliable. Jeux de son et de lumière, mise en scène, participation des animaux… Tout est prêt pour vous faire voyager au fil des siècles. Sur place, des espaces de restauration vous attendent pour profiter pleinement de votre soirée historique au château.

Château de Saint-Fargeau
Spectacle historique du château de Saint-Fargeau
Ferme du château
Enfant qui donne le biberon à la ferme du château de Saint-Fargeau

La Ferme du Château

Si vous êtes à la recherche d’authenticité, vous êtes au bon endroit. La visite de la Ferme du Château est un retour aux sources, au milieu des animaux de la ferme pour un moment de convivialité. Des activités adaptées à chaque membre de la famille vous seront proposées sur place : promenade en charrette, biberon aux veaux, traite des chèvres, cuisson du pain, fabrication de corde, apprendre à forger… pour tout savoir sur les métiers de la ferme. C’est un endroit instructif et pédagogique pour enfants et adultes.


Le village de Saint-Fargeau

Situé au cœur de la Bourgogne-Franche-Comté, à 40 minutes de la ville d’Auxerre, le village de Saint-Fargeau est un lieu incontournable pour votre séjour dans l’Yonne. Vous serez rapidement conquis par ses traditions locales, son château, les nombreuses activités à découvrir, sa nature et ses paysages et d’apprécier ses rues et ruelles et maisons à pans de bois. Saint-Fargeau porte une histoire riche où les détails de l’Histoire de France y sont mêlés.



Foire aux questions sur le château de Saint-Fargeau :

Comment acheter des billets pour le spectacle ?

Pour réserver vos billets pour le spectacle de Saint-Fargeau cet été, vous pouvez vous rendre sur le site officiel du Château de Saint-Fargeau ou en allant sur place les jours de spectacle.

Combien de temps faut-il prévoir pour la visite du Château ?

Pour visiter le château en visite libre comptez minimum 2 heures pour l’ensemble des appartements intérieurs, des écuries et du parc extérieur. Le spectacle dure 1h30. Vous accéderez aux tribunes entre 1h et 1h30 avant le début du spectacle.

Est-il possible de faire la visite avec mon chien?

Les chiens ne sont pas acceptés à l’intérieur du château mais vous pouvez totalement visiter le parc extérieur en sa compagnie.

Peut-on se garer à proximité de l’entrée du Château ?

Un parking gratuit est disponible sur la place de la République. Nous vous conseillons cependant de venir en avance lors des représentations pour avoir une place garantie lors de l’ouverture au public.

Quels sont les autres sites touristiques à visiter à Saint-Fargeau ?

Pour prolonger l’expérience à Saint-Fargeau, voici une sélection d’activités :

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?