In the world of French literature, there is a stroke of genius that drew its inspiration from the landscapes of Burgundian Puisaye: Colette. 20th century French writer, Colette wrote a masterful and poetic work on nature and the relationships between living beings. Today she is one of the most famous women of letters, in France and in the world. 

Her notoriety is also due to her audacity, her choices and her tumultuous life, which made Colette a pioneer in the emancipation of women, free and modern. 

Dove Clier

Colette's birthplace. It was here in Saint-Sauveur-en-Puisaye that she was born on January 28, 1863.

Biography and Work of Colette

His childhood

Colette, real name Sidonie-Gabrielle Colette, was the daughter of Jules-Joseph Colette, a former army captain, and Adèle Eugénie Sidonie Landoy. Colette is the last of Sido's four children. She had a happy childhood and was a good student at the secular school of Saint-Sauveur in Puisaye. Her education was rather atypical for a young girl of the time. His mother Sido, was an educated woman who encouraged her to read, write and loved the nature around her. This education stimulated her passion for literature and played an essential role in her writing career, for which she made her home, her childhood and her native country the most beautiful pages of his work.

There is no equivalent in French literature of an author who has devoted so many pages and so much creative energy to reconstructing his childhood setting.

Frédéric Maget, director of Colette’s house
Colette Study Center

His meeting with Willy

In 1893, Colette married Henry Gauthier-Villars, a man of letters and literary critic known under the pseudonym “Willy”. Their marriage was the starting point of Colette's public life. Under the influence of her husband, she began writing four semi-biographical novels entitled “Claudine”, under the signature of Willy. However, Colette and Willy's relationship was tumultuous and the couple divorced in 1906.

Three husbands and a daughter

Very quickly, Colette understands the benefit of writing, even if she claims to have become an author without having wanted to: “it allows you to nourish yourself, both your stomach and your mind”. After her separation from Willy, Colette collaborated with the newspaper “Matin”. She meets there Henry de Jouvenel, one of the editors-in-chief. This union gave birth to her daughter, Colette Renée de Jouvenel, known as “Bel-Gazou”. However, Jouvenel's political career, hardly compatible with that of Colette, caused their separation. This in no way prevents Colette from taking charge Bertrand de Jouvenel, born from Henry de Jouvenel's first marriage, and to have a romantic affair with this young man, only 16 years old.

Colette and Jean Cocteau in Paris

In 1925, Colette met Maurice Goudeket, pearl broker. From Saint-Malo to Saint-Tropez, via Paris and Corrèze, they both lead in great style. Their marriage was celebrated on April 3, 1935. In 1938, Colette finally realized her dream: to live on the noble floor of the Palais Royal. She counts among her neighbors Jean Cocteau, who becomes a faithful friend. Suffering from polyarthritis and forced to immobility, Colette slowed down her writing and publication despite the unwavering support of Maurice Goudeket. She died on August 3, 1954.  

The works of Colette, in a protean career

Colette's career spanned several decades, and she left behind a body of work of unparalleled accuracy, including novels, plays, essays and articles.

Among his most famous works are:

  • Gigi: a short story written in 1944, on the theme of demi-mondaines and the Belle-Epoque. 
  • Sido: Autobiographical novel in which Colette depicts her mother Sido and her family circle.
  • The tendrils of the vine: it is a collection of 20 short stories where Colette recounts her childhood and her passion for nature.
  • Dear : novel adapted for the theater, then for the cinema. Léa de Lonval, courtesan, is Fred Peloux's mistress: a story that is not without regrets. 
  • Budding wheat: Colette wrote this novel during her vacation in Roz-Ven. It tells the story of the sentimental and sexual initiation of two adolescents.  
  • The Vesper star: In this novel, Colette delivers her memories with great sensitivity, through well-chosen fragments of life. 
  • The wanderer: Written during a tumultuous period in Colette's love life, this novel is perhaps the novel of revenge. 

This writing frenzy never stopped her from being a free woman and to do what she liked, when she wanted: actress, music-woman, journalist and even owner of a beauty salon...

Where to buy Colette's books in Puisaye-Forterre?

You will naturally find them at all the booksellers, at the boutique of the birthplace and the museum or at the essential second-hand bookseller, rue de la Roche in Saint-Sauveur-en-Puisaye.

Are there any special events around Colette, in Puisaye-Forterre?

Throughout the year, the Birthplace and Museum organize conferences, readings, exhibitions, screenings, dedicated to Colette or other women writers, scientists, politicians, etc. In the fall, the International Festival of Women's Writings remains the major event. The cooking workshops, for children or adults, led by Isabelle Géraud, will introduce you to Colette's favorite dishes.

Are there guided tours to learn more about Colette’s life?

During the summer, take part in guided hikes, with reading extracts from Colette's books and the possibility of visiting Colette's classroom. For groups, possibility of an excursion “In the footsteps of Colette: in the land of Claudine”. Find out more at the Tourist Office.

His honors

Unclassifiable author, she became the first woman to be elected member of the Goncourt academy in 1945 and 1953, she was elevated to the dignity of grand officer of the Legion of Honor. 

The sulphurous reputation of his novels prevents the author from obtaining a religious burial. But his reputation is such that the Republic organizes for him national funeral. This is a first for a woman. “We have no idea today of this level of recognition,” according to Frédéric Maget, director of the Colette house and author of “7 Lives of Colette” at Flammarion. 

She is buried in the Père-Lachaise cemetery in Paris.

What is Colette's most famous work?

It’s Claudine at School – This semi-autobiographical novel, published in 1900, was a real scandal at the time. Filled with life and sensuality, it is Colette's first novel.

How many women have had a state funeral?

Colette was the first woman to obtain this very high recognition, then there was Joséphine Baker in 1975 and Simone Veil in 2017.

The 5 novels to read or reread?

The “Claudine” series (1900), The tendrils of the vine (1908), The budding wheat (1923), Sido (1930), The blue beacon (1949).

Top 3 of Colette's most beautiful quotes?

  • “Do stupid things, but do them with enthusiasm” Extract from Letter to his Daughter (1916-1953).
  •  “If you are not capable of witchcraft, there is no point in meddling in cooking” – Excerpt from Paradis Terrestre.
  • “If I had a son to marry, I would tell him: beware of the young girl who likes neither wine, nor truffles, nor cheese, nor music.” Excerpt from “Portraits and Landscapes”.

Colette's birthplace in Saint-Sauveur-en-Puisaye

Colette's birthplace is a journey through time for literature lovers. It is a beautiful bourgeois residence nestled in the heart of the village. The interior of the house, as Colette knew it in the first 18 years of her life, was meticulously reconstructed from Colette's texts and archival documents. 

My house remains for me what it always was: a relic, a burrow, a citadel, the museum of my youth...'

Colette, The Sentimental Retirement (1907)

The house has two gardens, so skillfully governed by Sido, the upper garden and the lower garden. The century-old wisteria in the lower garden is a pure marvel during its flowering. Labeled “House of the Illustrious”, the house and gardens can be visited in small groups of 15 people maximum and accompanied by a guide who will help you discover the place like “turning the pages of a book”.

Pratical information

Farm. Opens Wednesday at 10:30 a.m.
8-10, rue Colette
89520 SAINT-SAUVEUR-EN-PUISAYE
Calculate my route

The Colette museum in Saint-Sauveur en Puisaye

Open since 1995 and housed in Victor Gandrille's castle, a few steps from Colette's birthplace, the museum was created at the initiative of her daughter, Colette Renée de Jouvenel, nicknamed “Bel Gazou”. This printing museum has an original scenography with a magnificent photography room, part of its furnishings apartment at the Palais Royal, an imaginary library and well-chosen pieces from its collections of sulfides and butterflies. After the visit, you will enjoy a gourmet break in the museum's tea room.

Pratical information

Open. Closes at 18:00 p.m.
Castle Square
89520 SAINT-SAUVEUR-EN-PUISAYE
Calculate my route

Who are the other famous people in Puisaye-Forterre?

  • Pierre Larousse, the famous lexicographer, was born in Toucy on October 23, 1817. 
  • Jean d'Oremesson : spent part of his childhood at the castle of Saint-Fargeau who belonged to his maternal family. Strongly attached to this place, Jean d'Ormesson had even confided during an interview with Francis Guthleben: “La Puisaye was my country and I am Poyaudin. This is my root
    permed." He also made the castle the central character of his novel “In the Pleasure of God”.

Are there other places around literature to visit in Puisaye-Forterre?

The Graphic Art Center: Mecca for art printing professions, combining both modernity and tradition, the art center brings together workshops dedicated to the creation original prints and artists' books. Artists and poets such as Di Rosa, Agosti, Texier come there recharge and work on it.


Was this content useful to you?

Carte localisation de Saint-Sauveur-en-Puisaye

Dans l’univers de la littérature française, il est un trait de génie qui a puisé son inspiration dans les paysages de la Puisaye bourguignonne : Colette. Écrivaine française du XXe siècle, Colette a écrit une œuvre magistrale et poétique sur la nature et les relations entre les êtres vivants. Aujourd’hui, elle est une des plus célèbres femmes de lettres, en France comme dans le monde. 

Sa notoriété tient également à son audace, ses choix et sa vie tumultueuse, qui ont fait de Colette, une pionnière dans l’émancipation de la femme, libre et moderne. 

Colombe Clier

Maison natale de Colette. C’est ici à Saint-Sauveur-en-Puisaye, qu’elle naquit, le 28 janvier 1863.

Biographie et Œuvre de Colette

Son enfance

Colette, de son vrai nom Sidonie-Gabrielle Colette, était la fille de Jules-Joseph Colette, un ancien capitaine de l’armée, et d’Adèle Eugénie Sidonie Landoy. Colette est la dernière des quatre enfants de Sido. Elle passe une enfance heureuse et elle est une bonne élève à l’école laïque de Saint-Sauveur en Puisaye. Son éducation a été plutôt atypique pour une jeune fille de l’époque. Sa mère Sido, était une femme éduquée qui l’a encouragée à lire, à écrire et a aimé la nature qui l’entoure. Cette éducation a stimulé sa passion pour la littérature et a joué un rôle essentiel dans sa carrière d’écrivain pour laquelle, elle fit de sa maison, de son enfance et de son pays natal les plus belles pages de son œuvre.

Il n'y a pas d'équivalent dans la littérature française, d'un auteur qui ait consacré autant de pages et autant d'énergie créative, à recomposer son décor d'enfance.

Frédéric Maget, directeur de la maison de Colette
Centre d’étude Colette

Sa rencontre avec Willy

En 1893, Colette épouse Henry Gauthier-Villars, un homme de lettres et critique littéraire connu sous le pseudonyme de “Willy”. Leur mariage a été le point de départ de la vie publique de Colette. Sous l’influence de son mari, elle a commencé à écrire quatre romans semi-biographiques intitulés “Claudine”, sous la signature de Willy. Cependant, la relation entre Colette et Willy était tumultueuse et le couple divorce en 1906.

Trois maris et une fille

Très vite, Colette comprend l’intérêt d’écrire, même si elle prétend être devenue auteur sans l’avoir voulu : “cela permet de se nourrir, aussi bien le ventre que l’esprit”. Après sa séparation avec Willy, Colette collabore au journal le “Matin”. Elle y rencontre Henry de Jouvenel, l’un des rédacteurs en chef. Cette union donne naissance à sa fille, Colette Renée de Jouvenel, dite “Bel-Gazou”. Cependant, la carrière politique de Jouvenel, peu compatible avec celle de Colette, a eu raison de leur séparation. Cela n’empêche en rien Colette de prendre en charge Bertrand de Jouvenel, né d’un premier mariage d’Henry de Jouvenel, et d’avoir avec ce jeune homme âgé seulement de 16 ans, une liaison amoureuse.

Colette et Jean Cocteau à Paris

En 1925, Colette rencontre Maurice Goudeket, courtier en perles. De Saint-Malo à Saint-Tropez, en passant par Paris et la Corrèze, ils mènent tous deux grand train. Leur mariage est célébré le 3 avril 1935. En 1938, Colette réalise enfin son rêve : habiter l’étage noble du Palais Royal. Elle compte parmi ses voisins Jean Cocteau, qui devient un ami fidèle. Atteinte de polyarthrite et contrainte à l’immobilité, Colette ralentit l’écriture et la publication malgré le soutien indéfectible de Maurice Goudeket. Elle meurt le 3 août 1954.  

Les œuvres de Colette, dans une carrière protéiforme

La carrière de Colette s’est étalée sur plusieurs décennies, et elle a laissé derrière elle une œuvre d’une justesse inégalable, notamment des romans, des pièces de théâtre, des essais et des articles.

Parmi ses œuvres les plus célèbres figurent :

  • Gigi : une nouvelle écrite en 1944, sur le thème des demi-mondaines et de la Belle-Epoque. 
  • Sido : Roman autobiographique dans lequel Colette dépeint sa mère Sido et son entourage familial.
  • Les vrilles de la vigne : c’est un recueil de 20 nouvelles où Colette raconte son enfance et sa passion pour la nature.
  • Chéri : roman adapté pour le théâtre, puis pour le cinéma. Léa de Lonval, courtisane, est la maîtresse de Fred Peloux : une histoire qui ne va pas sans regrets. 
  • Le blé en herbe : Colette a écrit ce roman pendant ses vacances à Roz-Ven. Il raconte l’initiation sentimentale et sexuelle de deux adolescents.  
  • L’étoile Vesper : Dans ce roman, Colette livre avec grande sensibilité ses souvenirs, au travers de fragments de vie bien choisis. 
  • La vagabonde : Écrit pendant une période tumultueuse de la vie amoureuse de Colette, ce roman est peut-être le roman de vengeance. 

Cette frénésie d’écriture ne l’a jamais empêchée d’être une femme libre et de faire ce qui lui plaisait, quand elle le voulait : comédienne, femme de music-all, journaliste et même  propriétaire d’un institut de beauté …

Où acheter les livres de Colette en Puisaye-Forterre ?

Vous les trouverez naturellement chez tous les libraires, à la boutique de la maison natale et du musée ou chez l’incontournable bouquiniste, rue de la Roche à Saint-Sauveur-en-Puisaye.

Y’a t’il des événements spéciaux autour de Colette, en Puisaye-Forterre ?

Tout au long de l’année , la Maison natale et le Musée organisent des conférences, des lectures, des expositions, des projections, consacrées à Colette ou à d’autres femmes écrivains, scientifiques, politiques… À l’automne, le Festival International des Ecrits de Femmes reste l’événement majeur. Les ateliers cuisine, pour enfants ou adultes, animés par Isabelle Géraud, vous feront découvrir les mets préférés de Colette.

Existe-t-il des visites guidées pour en apprendre davantage sur la vie de Colette?

Pendant l’été, participez aux randonnées commentées, avec lecture d’extraits de livres de Colette et possibilité de visiter la salle de classe de Colette. Pour les groupes, possibilité d’une excursion “Sur les pas de Colette : au pays de Claudine”. Se renseigner auprès de l’Office de Tourisme.

Ses honneurs

Auteur inclassable, elle est devenue la première femme à être élue membre de l’académie Goncourt en 1945 et en 1953, elle est élevée à la dignité de grand officier de la Légion d’Honneur. 

La réputation sulfureuse de ses romans empêche l’auteur d’obtenir un enterrement religieux. Mais sa réputation est telle que la République lui organise des obsèques nationales. C’est une première pour une femme. “On a pas idée aujourd’hui de ce niveau de reconnaissance”, selon Frédéric Maget, directeur de la maison Colette et auteur des “7 vies de Colette” chez Flammarion. 

Elle est enterrée au cimetière du Père-Lachaise, à Paris.

Quelle est l’œuvre la plus célèbre de Colette ?

C’est Claudine à l’école – Ce roman semi-autobiographique, paru en 1900, fut un véritable scandale à l’époque. Rempli de vie et de sensualité, il est le premier roman de Colette.

Combien de femmes ont eu des obsèques nationales ?

Colette fut la première femme a obtenir cette très haute reconnaissance, puis il y eut Joséphine Baker en 1975 et Simone Veil en 2017.

Les 5 romans à lire ou à relire ?

La série “Claudine” (1900), Les vrilles de la vigne (1908), Le blé en herbe (1923), Sido (1930), le fanal bleu (1949).

Top 3 des plus belles citations de Colette ?

  • “Faites des bêtises, mais faites-les avec enthousiasme” Extrait de Lettre à sa Fille (1916-1953).
  •  “Si vous n’êtes pas capables de sorcellerie, ce n’est pas la peine de vous mêler de cuisine” – Extrait de Paradis Terrestre.
  • “Si j’avais un fils à marier, je lui dirais : méfie-toi de la jeune-fille qui n’aime ni le vin, ni la truffe, ni le fromage, ni la musique.” Extrait de “Portraits et paysages”.

La maison natale de Colette à Saint-Sauveur-en-Puisaye

La maison natale de Colette est un voyage dans le temps pour les amateurs de littérature. C’est une belle demeure bourgeoise nichée au cœur du village. L’intérieur de la maison, tel que Colette l’a connu dans les 18 premières années de sa vie, a été méticuleusement reconstitué d’après les textes de Colette et les documents d’archives. 

Ma maison reste pour moi ce qu’elle fut toujours : une relique, un terrier, une citadelle, le musée de ma jeunesse … '

Colette, La Retraite sentimentale (1907)

La maison dispose de deux jardins, si savamment gouvernés par Sido, le jardin du haut et le jardin du bas. La glycine centenaire dans le jardin du bas est une pure merveille pendant sa floraison. Labellisée «Maison des illustres», la maison et les jardins se visitent par petits groupes de 15 personnes maximum et accompagnés d’un guide qui vous fera découvrir le lieu comme “on tourne les pages d’un livre”.

Informations pratiques

Ouvert. Ferme à 18h30
8-10, rue Colette
89520 SAINT-SAUVEUR-EN-PUISAYE
Calculer mon itinéraire

Le musée Colette à Saint-Sauveur en Puisaye

Ouvert depuis 1995 et hébergé dans le château de Victor Gandrille, à quelques pas de la maison natale de Colette, le musée a été créé à l’initiative de sa fille, Colette Renée de Jouvenel, surnommée « Bel Gazou ». Ce musée d’impression dispose d’une scénographie originale avec une magnifique salle de photographies, une partie de son ameublement de son appartement au Palais Royal, une bibliothèque imaginaire et des pièces bien choisies de ses collections de sulfures et de papillons. Après la visite, vous apprécierez une pause gourmande dans le salon de thé du musée.

Informations pratiques

Ouvert. Ferme à 18h00
Place du Château
89520 SAINT-SAUVEUR-EN-PUISAYE
Calculer mon itinéraire

Quels sont les autres personnages célèbres en Puisaye-Forterre ?

  • Pierre Larousse, le célèbre lexicographe, est né à Toucy le 23 octobre 1817. 
  • Jean d’Oremesson : a passé une partie de son enfance au château de Saint-Fargeau qui appartenait à sa famille maternelle. Fortement attaché à ce lieu, Jean d’Ormesson avait même confié au cours d’un entretien avec Francis Guthleben : «La Puisaye, c’était mon pays et je suis Poyaudin. C’est là ma racine
    permanente.» Il a d’ailleurs fait du château le personnage central de son roman «Au Plaisir de Dieu».

Y’a t’il d’autres lieux autour de la littérature, à visiter, en Puisaye-Forterre ?

Le centre d’Art graphique : Haut lieu des métiers de l’imprimerie d’art, alliant à la fois la modernité et la tradition, le centre d’art regroupe des ateliers consacrés à la réalisation d’estampes originales et de livres d’artistes. Artistes et poètes tels que Di Rosa, Agosti, Texier viennent s’y ressourcer et y travailler.


Ce contenu vous a été utile ?